AGS Banner
Maps and Data


Click on plus symbol + below
to reveal subheadings.
open all | close all

AGS / Publications / Guide Books / GB 86-1

AGC/AGS Series Guidebook
Number Series GB 86-1
Title Guidebook:  Economic Geology of Central Arkansas
Author (s) Arkansas Geological Commission and contributing authors
Date 1986
  Prepared for the Society of Economic Geologists Field Trip No. 2, Feb. 28 - Mar. 1, 1986
General Description This 2-day field trip guidebook describes 6 stops related to economic geology and mineral commodities in the eastern and southern Ouachita Mountains of Arkansas. The stop descriptions include site maps for each stop. Stop descriptions comprise the body of this guidebook and include:
  • Alcoa bauxite mine, Saline County, Arkansas, by Staff, Arkansas Geological Commission, p.1-2. 
  • Prairie Creek kimberlite (lamproite), by L. G. Krol, p. 3-12. 
  • Barite in the western Ouachita Mountains, Arkansas, by A. W. Mitchell, p. 13-20.
  • Geology of Magnet Cove, by Staff, Arkansas Geological Commission, p. 21-25.
  • Christy vanadium-titanium mine, by J. M. Howard, p. 27.
  • Geomex quartz crystal mine, by C. G. Stone, p. 29-30.
The following paper relates to the last stop (Geomex quartz crystal mine):
  • U-Pb zircon ages of granitic boulders in the Ordovician Blakely Sandstone, Arkansas and implications for their provenance, by S. A. Bowring, p. 31.

*Includes:  31 pages, 14 figures

Availability Yes.  Paper & PDF copy.
Price $3.00 plus shipping
  Contact Sales Office at (501) 296-1877,  for shipping and handling charges.
Online Version Guidebook 86-1 pdf (9.03 MB)
Contact Information Arkansas Geological Survey
3815 West Roosevelt Road
Little Rock, AR  72204
(501) 296-1877 or  (501) 296-1878

back arrow Back to Guide Books

AGS seal

Arkansas Geological Survey
Vardelle Parham Geology Center
3815 West Roosevelt Road
Little Rock, AR 72204
Phone: 501-296-1877 | Fax: 501-663-7360
Business Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm

Contact Us | Google Map

Big Rock Quarry Panorama
Copyright © 2015  State of Arkansas.  All Rights Reserved.