AGS Banner
Maps and Data


Click on plus symbol + below
to reveal subheadings.
open all | close all

AGS / Publications / Information Circulars / IC-22

AGC/AGS Series Information Circular
Number Series IC-22
Title Geology of the Uranium-Bearing Black Shale of Late Devonian Age in North-CentralArkansas
Author (s) V.E. Swanson and E.R. Landis
Date 1962
General Description

This report describes the lithology, mineralogy, and uranium-related chemistry of a uraniferous black shale deposit in Marion County.  At the time of its discovery, the samples of Chattanooga shale from this site yielded the highest values of uranium for black shale in the United States.

The report includes:

  • A sample location map
  • A fold-out restored cross-section of north Arkansas during the Mississippian
  • A fold-out block diagram showing probable paleogeography of north-central Arkansas during the Devonian
  • A sketch drawing of the outcrop where the original discovery was made
  • A table of uranium analyses of 20 black shale samples from Marion County
  • A table of semi-quantitative spectroscopic analyses of 11 transition elements and uranium
  • A plot of the distribution of metals in samples of black shale from Marion County and from the Chattanooga and Woodford shales of Arkansas and Oklahoma
  • A plate of photomicrographs of organic materials in black shale from the study area

*Includes:  16 pages, 1 plate, 6 figures, 2 tables

Availability Yes.  Paper copy.
Price $4.00 plus shipping
  Contact Sales Office at (501) 296-1877,  for shipping and handling charges.
Online Version Download pdf pdf (13.4 MB)
Contact Information Arkansas Geological Survey
3815 West Roosevelt Road
Little Rock, AR  72204
(501) 296-1877 or  (501) 296-1878

back arrow Back to Information Circulars

AGS seal

Arkansas Geological Survey
Vardelle Parham Geology Center
3815 West Roosevelt Road
Little Rock, AR 72204
Phone: 501-296-1877 | Fax: 501-663-7360
Business Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm

Contact Us | Google Map

Big Rock Quarry Panorama
Copyright © 2015  State of Arkansas.  All Rights Reserved.